This Writing Life…

I have one word for myself as a writer: Sentimental.

Ugh. My early writing is so sentimentally ugly, so overstated and over-written. I am thankful for the ability to rewrite and revise, because I’ve probably rescued anyone that would have read my story from enduring much pain.

My favorite line from today’s revision: “She silently hands over her baby and a warm imprint remains on the pillow.”

Honestly, today has been one of the most solid writing days of my life. I re-worked this week’s chapter for two hours, submitted a short story to literary journals, wrote a rock-star cover letter, and completed a Letter of Intent. The LOI is for Poetic Therapy. I’ve been training, pre-degree, and accumulating hours to become a Poetic Therapist for the last three years. Now that I’m heading to grad school, I can officially submit my LOI and hopefully be accepted into the NAPT program.

And….there is still no water in my diet. I did brew three pots of herbal tea, homemade Chai, without caffeine, so I’m counting this as my water intake from henceforth. This means that I’ve consumed about 48 oz of water. If all else fails, I’ll start counting my cups of Java towards water intake. Desperate means…

My disabled son and I went to the gym for a “workout”. He’s in Superhero training to write his scripts for his own stories. So we did a few core activities, some light strength for our joints and a bit of flexibility.

I practiced three cords of guitar. This is so difficult for me. And frustrating. My hands do not work right and trying to make my fingers stretch for each cord is painful. The nerve damage from my neck injury makes me think that I may not develop that “muscle memory” needed to quickly switch from cord to cord. I don’t think my brain and my hands are communicating. But I’m determined. And I think this will help strengthen what has been lost in my hand function.

Rest. Better. I watched Sherlock, listened to my “Calm” app and sprayed my pillow with lavender oil. Though I didn’t sleep long, I did sleep well.

I have an interesting family “excursion” planned for tomorrow, but you’ll have to wait to read until after the event.

 

 

About Rebecca Evans

My writing offers a glimpse of military experience, world-level athletics, mental illness, childhood trauma and realization of one’s flaws. I try to capture the rawness of emotional experience in story, blending my life experiences with fiction, and penning my heart on the page. My stories offer a background and academic profile from psychology which helps develop realistic behavior in character and emotional evocation for the reader. I also bring my experience as a television show producer, capturing scene and detail in a unique way. My time as a war veteran, a pageant queen, a mother of a special needs son, and a person with her own disabilities offers me the opportunity to capture the world through a unique lens. I’ve had the honor of studying with Cynthia Hand, Nicole Cullen, Kerri Webster, Brady Udell, Christian Winn, Martin Corless-Smith, Janet Holmes and Mitch Wieland. Bio: Rebecca Evans is a Gulf War Vet and earned her B.A. in Creative Writing at Boise State University with a minor in Psychology. She is currently a graduate student in Creative Nonfiction Writing at Sierra Nevada College and the Producer and Show Host of Our Voice television show. Her credentials include Poetic Therapy, Certified Empowerment Coach, Motivational Speaker and Author. She has combined her experiences as a woman in the military, mom and world class athlete into her work. Her accomplishments as a business woman have landed her as Idaho Business Review’s “Idaho Women of the Year” honors, the National Association of Women Business Owners Business Women of the Year honors, and Boise State University's “Women Making History in Idaho”. She is a former Girls on the Run program director, Mrs. Idaho International 2004 and a Fitness professional. She lives in Idaho with her three sons, two pugs, Chiweenie, five chickens and an endearing bearded dragon. View all posts by Rebecca Evans

Leave a Reply

