This Writing Life…

Yesterday was a nonproductive writing day. I “warmed up” my pen, read for inspiration, rewrote bad poetry and opened the “working copy” of my manuscript four times. Nothing would come through. I worked on one sentence for 30 minutes and still could not get it right. I gardened, played a board game with my son, and then organized my desk. Then re-organized it two more times.

Some days, the line is meant to marinade while you live your life. I used to tell myself that my full life, single-handedly raising three boys (one who is disabled) offered me rich perspective and material in which I could draw from as a writer.

But yesterday did not feel much like a writing life. Instead, it felt like an avoid-the-writing life.

Today, I woke starving to write.

Best lines: “Even the original pediatrician, the one she painstakingly reviewed and researched for months, has a substitute because he is now unreachable, on vacation. Realistically, Zach wasn’t due for another seven weeks. Yet here the two of them are, her and Zach, mostly alone.”

These lines were almost two paragraphs, mostly nonsense detail that added nothing to the story. Cutting sucks.

Water intake = zero.

Rest = three hours in a row. Miraculous for me.

Core strength = 30 minutes with my disabled son yesterday.

Guitar = painful 15 minutes yesterday and today.

New dishes = zero. I’m on motherly strike this week in an effort to help my sons appreciate all that is done on a daily (and hourly) basis for them, so they are “cooking” meals this week.

My progress through two chapters a week = I’m only halfway through one chapter at this juncture. The progress to rework old prose is daunting. My hope is to complete this chapter by tomorrow and begin on the second (randomly selected) chapter by Friday.

Submissions = submitted two short stories yesterday to a few more literary journals.

Cheer me on please.

About Rebecca Evans

My writing offers a glimpse of military experience, world-level athletics, mental illness, childhood trauma and realization of one’s flaws. I try to capture the rawness of emotional experience in story, blending my life experiences with fiction, and penning my heart on the page. My stories offer a background and academic profile from psychology which helps develop realistic behavior in character and emotional evocation for the reader. I also bring my experience as a television show producer, capturing scene and detail in a unique way. My time as a war veteran, a pageant queen, a mother of a special needs son, and a person with her own disabilities offers me the opportunity to capture the world through a unique lens. I’ve had the honor of studying with Cynthia Hand, Nicole Cullen, Kerri Webster, Brady Udell, Christian Winn, Martin Corless-Smith, Janet Holmes and Mitch Wieland. Bio: Rebecca Evans is a Gulf War Vet and earned her B.A. in Creative Writing at Boise State University with a minor in Psychology. She is currently a graduate student in Creative Nonfiction Writing at Sierra Nevada College and the Producer and Show Host of Our Voice television show. Her credentials include Poetic Therapy, Certified Empowerment Coach, Motivational Speaker and Author. She has combined her experiences as a woman in the military, mom and world class athlete into her work. Her accomplishments as a business woman have landed her as Idaho Business Review’s “Idaho Women of the Year” honors, the National Association of Women Business Owners Business Women of the Year honors, and Boise State University's “Women Making History in Idaho”. She is a former Girls on the Run program director, Mrs. Idaho International 2004 and a Fitness professional. She lives in Idaho with her three sons, two pugs, Chiweenie, five chickens and an endearing bearded dragon. View all posts by Rebecca Evans

Leave a Reply

